Xingyiquan Twelve Animals Kung Fu


SKU: D1200DVD Categories: ,


Master the Art of Twelve Animals Kung Fu Xingyiquan (Hsing Yi Chuan), or ‘Shape-Mind Fist’ is a well-known Chinese internal martial art, similar to Taijiquan (Tai Chi Chuan). Xingyiquan imitates the movements and inner characteristics of twelve animals the Dragon, Tiger, Monkey, Horse, Water Lizard, Chicken, Harrier, Swallow, Snake, Chinese Ostrich, Eagle and Bear. Mastery of these animal forms gives you a variety of simple and effective fighting techniques. Xingyi training also builds your Qi (energy) for improved health, and your muscular strength for incredible power and vitality.

The fundamental postures are demonstrated, including the Five Phases, with explanation of their relationship to Five Elements Theory. Senior students demonstrate the two-person Five Phases Matching exercise and linking sequence, which improve your reaction speed and attack/counterattack skills. Lastly, the Xingyiquan sequence and each of the twelve animal forms with martial applications are shown. This DVD compliments the book Xingyiquan, by Master Liang Shou-Yu and Dr. Yang, Jwing-Ming (YMAA).

Additional information

item number



Dr. Yang, Jwing-Ming & Master Liang, Shou-Yu